Just like the signs, the Nakshatra also break up the zodiac into equally spaced segments. There are 27 Nakshatras each taking up 13" 20. Again each Nakshatra divided in to four parts of 3-20" each called Pada or Charan. The Nakshatras are also called lunar mansions, as the Nakshatra position of the Moon is an important use of Nakshatras. Nakshatra has a symbol, Various attributes, and a planetary rule. There is also a special Nakshatra which is called Abhijit Nakshatra has very less to do with Predictive astrology. It is used in Muhurta purpose only. It starts form last quarter (4th Charan) of the Uttarshada (21) till first 4Ghatis of Shravans(1/15 Portion of Shravans). Thus total portion is 6 degree40 minuets of Capricorn to 10 degree 53 minuets 20 second of Capricorn.

The 27 Nakshatara are below:

astrology on facebook astrology on twiter astrologyer on wordpress